Greetings from Canada

Greetings from Canada

Postby Sonex1384 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 9:57 pm

Hello. My name is Louis Charest and I live in Alberta, Canada. I've been flying my Jabiru 3300 powered Sonex tailwheel since 2012. I only managed to put about 187 hours on it so far but in my defence I was distracted with a second plane (Rans S7 "Short Tail" Courier) for a year or so. I currently have a Recreational Pilot Permit (RPP). I was upgrading to a PPL at one time but when I discovered how difficult it was to find a plane to rent in my area I decided to build one and that's when I discovered the Sonex. With time and money limited I ordered my Sonex kit having never seen one in person and put my flight training on hold. Two years later I was flying my first homebuilt. I've really enjoyed this plane though being a little bit too well fed I do find the payload a little limiting with a passenger on any kind of longer cross country. It's luggage or fuel and fuel usually wins.

I don't usually post much but I've been toying with the idea of trying to make it to Oshkosh this year and it brought to mind some questions. First of all I know my RPP is a Canada only permit and I'm planning on upgrading soon. A question did cross my mind yesterday though and I'm not sure if anyone here would have an answer or not. We do not have such a thing as a tailwheel endorsement in Canada and frankly the last tricycle I flew was during my primary training but I started wondering if, as a Canadian pilot flying into the US, do I need to get an endorsement? That's just one of the strange questions that pop into my mind as I think about making the trip. I'm a low time pilot with little long cross country time let alone cross border flight. I blame it on work and weather. :-D
Sonex1384

Re: Greetings from Canada

Postby wlarson861 » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:33 pm