Greetings from Central Arkansas

Greetings from Central Arkansas

Postby gonkulator » Sun Apr 14, 2024 9:03 pm

Hey Y'all - my name is Brandon, and I just placed my order for a Waiex-B and the AeroVee Turbo. I have been reading/lurking as much as I possibly can here, and am excited to start my build.

I'm a spacecraft avionics software developer by trade, and since all the space stuff was originally (Mercury/Gemini/Apollo era) an outgrowth of flight test, a lot of the paradigms in the aviation world feel quite familiar, but given the 60ish years of separation in our fields, the language of aero has diverged somewhat from the language of space. Anyway, I'm excited to be recombining aerospace in my experience base and getting to know the fine people who devote their energies to flying where there is air, as everything I have piloted so far flies where there isn't.

Words of wisdom are most welcome from anyone who comes across this, as I know that if I treat myself as anything but a n00b, I'm not going to set myself up for success, which is to say, if you have websites or videos or books that provided you with the "aha!" experience about aviation, I want to hear the story and replicate your learning.

Cheers!
gonkulator

Re: Greetings from Central Arkansas

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sun Apr 14, 2024 10:02 pm

Hey Brandon! Welcome to the gang. Having a new kit on order is an exciting thing and beware the risk of dying from impatience. I think we almost lost BobDz from that, but he seems to be pulling through.
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23
Bryan Cotton

Postby gonkulator » Wed Apr 17, 2024 12:56 pm

Thank you for welcoming me!

I just got word from Sonex that July 5-19 is my delivery window, which is a whole month less than I was expecting.