Truth In Advertising - Are We Wrong?

Use this area for aviation related general discussions, newsworthy items, and non model specific topics.

Truth In Advertising - Are We Wrong?

Postby daleandee » Tue Jan 16, 2024 3:13 pm

There is a Sonex for sale on Barnstormers that is also being advertized on YouTube. The seller (identifies as a broker) has been told by Brian & myself via YouTube comments that this plane is not a B model.

I pointed out what I believe is clear evidence to the contrary and the the broker's reply is below:

Not sure what to tell you but I was not certain and reached out to the factory with the serial number. I am a broker and have no experience with Sonex. I knew I was not a good source of info so I did my research and solicited information from people who know more than anyone, the people who designed the aircraft. They confirmed it was a 3 so I am going to go with what the factory said. Until someone from Sonex reaches out to tell me otherwise I cannot list it as anything but what the factory says.
It was not recently built. Sat with a pickled engine for a few years. If you review the content in the post you will see more info about the plane.

Here's the Barnstormers ad: https://www.barnstormers.com/classified ... 477KD.html

Here's the YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJpOTebDcC4

Are we wrong? Will the factory clarify/verify that this in fact a B model Sonex? I'll gladly apologize if I'm incorrect, but I'd also like to avoid an unaware buyer making a mistake ...

TIA

Dale
3.0 Corvair/Tailwheel
daleandee

Re: Truth In Advertising - Are We Wrong?

Postby T41pilot » Tue Jan 16, 2024 4:03 pm

If the interior shot from the youtube video is from the same Aircraft, then the shape of the Glareshield and dash and dual sticks are not consistent with a B model.
Gregg Kaat
Sonex B #0014
T41pilot

Postby Murray Parr » Tue Jan 16, 2024 4:21 pm

A Model cowl
A Model Fuel tank
A Model Glare Shield
A Model flaps