Shiny Airplane/Rusty Pilot - Getting Ready to Fly

Discussion topics to include safety related issues and flight training.

Shiny Airplane/Rusty Pilot - Getting Ready to Fly

Postby WesRagle » Thu Apr 16, 2020 12:38 pm

Hi Guys,

My Onex is on the cusp of completion. As first flight gets closer I'm thinking more and more about all that goes into Phase I testing and preparing myself for what lies ahead.

I'm a low time pilot with only about 250-300 hours total time. Fifty hours in a C-150 while earning my license. From there I transitioned into an RV-6A and flew that airplane for somewhere around 100 Hrs. I then flew a Champ for about 10 hours while earning my tailwheel endorsement. Next I transitioned into a TW Sonex which I flew for somewhere over 100 hrs. That's it.

I recently flew for the first time in many (12?) years. I went up with my instructor in his Champ, and yes, that airplane kicked my butt. It served a wake up call for just how long it's been.

I know there are a lot of knowledgeable guys on the list so I thought I would start a thread where I could ask some of the (somewhat random) "flying" questions that pop into my head as the flying part of this project approaches.

So here goes:

1) I'll be poking around the web, but any links you guys could provide to good "Phase I" reading material would be appreciated. Sonex specific information especially appreciated.

2) I've been looking through the Onex flight manual (provided by Sonex LLC) noting some of blanks that have to be filled in. One of the tables needing filled in is "Cruise Performance with Full Fuel". The table has entries for several different altitudes at several different RPMs with the airspeed entered as TAS. I've watched Mike Farley's videos on flying the turbo several times and they seem to indicate/confirm that, as long as an airplane isn't near stall, the relationship between true airspeed and prop speed is relatively constant with a fixed pitch propeller. Isn't that the case?