Tires

Discussion for builders, pilots, owners, and those interested in building or owning a Sonex.

Tires

Postby Friesen5 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:45 am

Good Morning,

Does anyone have any experience using the Slick tires available from Great Plains? They can be found by clicking this link. http://www.greatplainsas.com/sctires.html

I'm interested in hearing how they fit in existing wheel pants, how they handle take off and landing, and how long they last in comparison with the Chen Shin tires from Wicks.

Mervin Friesen
Sonex 122
Jab 2200
235 hours
Friesen5

Re: Tires

Postby radfordc » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:08 am

I've been using them for several years and really like them. They fit the wheel pants with no problem. There's no difference in how the feel in operation from the Chen Shin tires, but they last much longer.
radfordc

Postby nwawingman » Mon May 09, 2016 6:22 pm

Just installed a set of the Slick tire and I am really happy with the size of these tires. These tires are 12 X 4 X 5.00 and diameter falls right between the larger 5 X 5.00 and the 11 X 4 X 5.00 I was currently using. Easily 1" or more ground clearance under wheel pants than with my old 11 X 4 X 5.00 and they fit the wheel pants nicely. Good price for a set of tires and tubes for $99.

Photo link of different sizes
http://nwawingman.blogspot.com/2016_05_01_archive.html

Great Plains now has a link to another company that sells these tires sets. They provide great service.
http://www.okeefeaero.com/-wheels-tires--axles.html
Last edited by nwawingman on Mon May 09, 2016 9:52 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Rick Wantz - Arkansas
Sonex 367 T/W AeroVee/Aeroinjector - Prince Elliptical Prop <361hrs
1st Flight 7/13 KOSHX3 Young EaglesX14
http://www.mykitlog.com/wingman
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2TNLK ... A63FvnPkNA
nwawingman

Postby fastj22 » Mon May 09, 2016 8:22 pm

Friesen5 wrote:Good Morning,