Battery Bus - before the Battery Contactor

Discussion of aircraft electrical system design, construction, and problems.

Battery Bus - before the Battery Contactor

Postby WilliamBatten » Mon May 16, 2022 8:22 am

To the collective,

I'm a new builder - waiting on my kit. Thought I would begin the journey of designing my electrical system. I've read all of the posts on this forum - but still learning. I know Bob Nuckolls is the guru - currently reading through his book. Having said all of that - I am confused by his "Battery Bus" in these diagrams.

https://bandc.com/reference-library/

These are his Z-11 & Z-13 Electrical System diagrams.

My question is: It seems to me that the Battery bus, connected directly to the battery ahead of the Battery Contactor, with no switch - would drain the battery down while sitting in the hangar. I've noticed that he has used a similar design on several other of his diagrams.

What am I missing?

Bill
Bill
N67WX - Reserved
Waiex-B Taildragger
Jabiru 3300
WilliamBatten

Re: Battery Bus - before the Battery Contactor

Postby racaldwell » Mon May 16, 2022 9:06 am

Bill,

This is not needed and, IMO, not desired, unless you have some particular device that requires a small amount of power to be on continuously. So you need to know what you will plan to install as to whether you need that battery bus. I would guess he says to use a fuseable link as the overcurrent protection. That is just a short piece of smaller wire in the circuit that will melt first in an overcurrent event.

Rick Caldwell
Xenos 0057 37 hrs in Ph 1
racaldwell

Postby WilliamBatten » Mon May 16, 2022 10:10 am

Thanks Rick.

Any other thoughts as to why Nuckolls includes this bus on several of his diagrams?

Bill
Bill
N67WX - Reserved
Waiex-B Taildragger
Jabiru 3300
WilliamBatten

Postby GordonTurner » Mon May 16, 2022 10:24 am