Earth X

Discussion of aircraft electrical system design, construction, and problems.

Earth X

Postby Skippydiesel » Sat Jun 04, 2022 8:14 am

My new Sonex has come with an Earth X, Model ETX 900, battery. I have no prior experience with this new generation of battery and am hoping you will be able to answear thje following;

In the event of a flat battery, is it okay to "jump start" the earth x from a lead acid battery?

I have a 12V fuel transfer pump, that I previously powered from my old aircrafts lead acid battery (through an external plug) - Is it okay to do the same thing from the Earth X?
Skippydiesel

Re: Earth X

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sat Jun 04, 2022 9:22 am

No, yes. Also get the right charger and plug it in between flights.
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23
Bryan Cotton

Postby Skippydiesel » Sun Jun 05, 2022 8:12 am

Bryan Cotton wrote:No, yes. Also get the right charger and plug it in between flights.

No to jump start from lead acid battery - bit of a weak point - could be stranded out back with no hope of getting the donk to turn over.

Yes to powering my refuelling pump - Great news! I have long since become disenchanted with holding a 20 L fuel drum aloft as my aged muscles start to shake and fuel sprays all over the aircraft.

Got the special charger already but why plug in after every flight?
Skippydiesel

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sun Jun 05, 2022 1:29 pm

You are using the aircraft battery for refueling? Why not your car battery? That should have a lot more reserve.

https://earthxbatteries.com/faqs/

I've seen an earthx battery die due to charge issues. It's not an uncommon practice to just charge it after each flight for longevity. The optimate charger has an optimize mode to balance the cells.
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX