Aerovee Ignition Question

Discussion of the Aerovee kit engine.

Aerovee Ignition Question

Postby Bill63C » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:53 pm

I’m new to the Aerovee/Sonex world. I purchased a tri-gear sport trainer with the Aerovee engine. When I do my initial run up before flying, I get very little, if any, drop in rpm’s between the mag and secondary ignition. After a lap around the patch and a warm engine, there is a substantial drop when the secondary ignition is switched off. The engine will run extremely rough. Any ideas would be welcome.

Thanks,
Bill
Bill63C

Re: Aerovee Ignition Question

Postby mike.smith » Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:56 pm

Hi, Bill:

You should see about a +/- 50 rpm max difference between the secondary and the primary on the ground. All the ground check does is confirm the engine does not quit when the secondary is turned off, so you know you have two ignition systems operating. In my experience even a 100 rpm drop on the ground is not indicative of a problem. The proof is in the in-flight check. In the air, in cruise, there should be little difference between the two. If there is, or if there is a large swing in CHT numbers, then the secondary ignition may be too advanced or retarded. You can only check that in flight; it doesn't work to check that on the ground.

I turn off my secondary ignition in flight (not needed, and the battery charges better without), and when on the ground (to save the drain on the battery from the coils). With the secondary turned off on the ground, it will run rougher than when both ignitions are turned on. I simply bump up the throttle a tad when I shut off the secondary.

From the AeroVee manual (page 46 of the 2018 manual):
Ground Check: A mag check at 1600-2000 rpm should reveal little or no change in rpm. If a change of 50 rpm or greater is noted, the magnet cap should be rotated slightly one way or the other.
In Flight Check: Under normal cruise power (2900-3400 rpm):